Testimonials

READ WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT JSA POST YOUR TESTIMONIAL

Please come to Dallas!

Enock

Texas
Feb 23, 2017

Professional and fast. Nice people too! I will return to use JSA services in the future.

Roy
Koon
Florida
Jan 13, 2017

I first met Jim Spence at a show in 1993 at the Armory in Baltimore, a few blocks from Camden Yards. I still have a business card "Show-Off Collectibles" from Jimmy Spence 'Matman'. He was a dealer and I talked to him about a Walter Johnson check he had for sale. He told me his grandfather and father were the reason he got into autographs. I have been collecting for 50 years and they are by far THE BEST!! Bob and Eric come in my area several times and I always see them. Great guys! If you have autographs...YOU NEED JSA!!! They hit it outta' the park! Donald Trump won't have to make them great, they already are!

Paul Leash

Pennsylvania
Jan 12, 2017

I had the opportunity to meet JSA at a local event in NC; They were consummate professionals and provided expertise in authentication that was on par with my high expectations. Would definitely use again.

Kamal Kolappa

North Carolina
Jan 08, 2017

I have been doing business with JSA since Jimmy started it in 2005. I have built a great relationship with most of his authenticators over the years. I love the fact that when I go to a show and I am submitting my items I am giving the items to one of the authenticators and can speak directly to them because they are right up front at their table and not back behind a curtain. JSA's personal service is second to none!

Steve Erickson

Georgia
Jun 12, 2016

I met Jimmy Spence III in 2013 when I contacted JSA to obtain some replacement certificates for ones that had been misplaced. When we chatted in his office in Ft. Lauderdale, he found out I was a huge Ken Griffey, Jr. autograph collector. I had always used PSA for certs but after talking with Jimmy and his folks, we set up an appointment for them to come to my residence and certify some items. Three visits later, Jimmy, Erik and Dinesh have now certified several hundred of my Ken Griffey, Jr. signed pieces (and of course have identified some “bad” ones!!). Items have included bats, balls, jerseys, hats, photos, posters, figures, magazines, gloves, cards, ceramic pieces, prints, lithos …… just about everything that can be signed! In addition, they have certified another 75 plus autographs by other Pro Sports athletes. I have found Jimmy and all of his Ft. Lauderdale team to be the consummate professionals. They are all experts and work very quickly but efficiently. Any questions I have had about any of my pieces (including fakes) have been answered in great detail. I have been particularly impressed with their ability to tell me in what timeframe each piece had probably been signed. In sum, I have the utmost respect for and trust in Jimmy and his staff. I welcome them in my home anytime and recommend them to anyone who is looking for outstanding personal service and a truly professional opinion on any autographed item. JSA is the only way to go!!

Rick Siefert

Florida
Mar 23, 2016

I only buy JSA verified there the best hands down if you want the truth about your signature go to JSA THANKS FOR Everything

mario lagasi
coopertown south
Florida
Feb 26, 2016

JSA Team is A True Team of Professionals! I primarily deal with the FT. Lauderdale office, mainly with Betty and her team, this customer is 100% satisfied with their services! The family and I are huge Washington Capitals Fans. We headed up to Washington DC to catch 3 games. 2 of them were cancelled due to a blizzard in January 2016. We managed to make it to all the practice sessions at Kettler Capitals Ice complex. We hung out after practice for at least two weeks and had every hockey puck, hockey cards, jersey and photo that we had autographed by the all players. The next task was to JSA's team authenticate everything. As suspected, pucks, jerseys, etc.. signed by Holtby, T.J. Oshie, Backstrom, Grubauer, Wilson, etc.. everything came back authentic! =) As a personal collector and Fan, ALL of my authentication business will be sent to the JSA team. Thank you again for being professional, fast and the #1 authenticator out there!

Kenny Lake

Florida
Feb 16, 2016

I have 3 Mickey Mantle signed cards. He signed for me when I met him way back in the 1970s. I know they are authentic, but wanted to have that confirmed so my relatives could sell them after my death. Another authentication service called them inauthentic! I suspect their signature exemplars were from 20 years later than my signatures. I tested JSA employees at a card show. After they authenticated one authentic Mantle. I had them do the others, all authentic, of course, as I knew. JSA, your two employees at the January Portland show were both quite professional and personable, despite being busy all day. I will definitely be a customer again.

Phil Erwin

Oregon
Feb 09, 2016

Very professional service and excellent turn time...Thanks!

Joe Binder

Illinois
Dec 15, 2015

Just came back from GBSCC convention very pleased with the signed baseballs I submitted. Eric was super friendly and not only explained the process but gave me some great historical background information on my treasures. Turn around time was fabulous! My 1st time doing this and I will definitely come back! Great job!

Matt Flynn

Massachusetts
Nov 09, 2015

My name is Mash Bonadona I,m a graduate of LSU and former LSU baseball four year letterman. I've been collecting cards and autographs for the past 45 years. I recently purchased a massive sports memorbilia collection containing over 5,000 autographs on cards, photos and index cards. I purachased this collection in December of 2013. For the past 18 months I have submitted over 400 autographs to JSA. I have an Ebay store and have been selling JSA authenticated autos nearly two years. Although some submitted autos were not authentic, of the 400 plus sold on my store, not one auto was returned to me. JSA's strict authentication standards and guidelines have given my customers purchasing from my store the peace of mind knowing they are buying an auto that is the real deal. Some skeptical buyers went a step further and sent their autos purchased to PSA (very impersonal staff)to verify the aunthenticity of the autos bought (Dizzy Dean, Satchel Paige, Roger Maris, Mickey Mantel, Ted Kennedy,Jackie Robinson, John "Blood" Mcnally, Emlen Tunnell, Johnny Unitas, and more). I was contacted by several customers letting me know that their autos passed PSA's athenication process. It's like going to the Doctor, sometimes you need a second opinion. I know if I spent $1,000 or more on an autograph, I'd pay an extra $50-$100 to verify I'm getting what I paid for. Again, not one auto has been returned. I've used PSA in the past, but switched to JSA because of the service and turnaround time. I get to talk to a real person directly. If I leave a message I get a prompt response. During the process, I received professional and quick service. At JSA in Florida, Jimmy Spence III and Erik Santomauro have been curteous, professional and a pleasure to deal with. I have received quick turnaround time on submissions and service in processing my autographs submitted. I got to meet both of them when they came to Baton Rouge for a show and was floored when they told me they were going to discount autos submitted in the future based on the volume of autos sent for authentication. Real people who really take the autograph business seriously. If your looking for quality and personal one on one service with a leader in the business, JSA goes above and beyond just authentication but provides the personal touch that you don't get at PSA. Remember, over 400 autos submitted not one returned even those autenticated after JSA and PSA. Do your self a favor and take advantage of the JSA touch. Mash

Mash Bonadona
Geaux Tigers
Louisiana
Oct 14, 2015

I've been working with Jimmy Spence III since about May 2008. JSA has authenticated 100's of my sports items and I have been very satisfied with the results. They have done an excellent job with my items and have returned them all in a reasonable time. Not all of my items have passed their authentication process but I assert that effort to their professionalism.

David Catlin

Ohio
Oct 01, 2015

We have had amazing results with JSA. Jimmy Spence is incredible with his response time to questions. With a company of their size and volume to have that one to one touch with their customers is shocking and rare in business now a days. It's great to know that we have items that our customers can trust because it has the JSA verification. The science that goes into these verifications is amazing. I can't recommend JSA enough. It's truly improved our customer experience.

David Wilson
Everything But The House
Ohio
Sep 03, 2015

I had 3 baseballs authenticated at a card show in Charlotte NC. The staff explained the process and I was very happy with the program. I will definitely be using JSA in the near future. Great job, Thank you.

Jerry Belk

North Carolina
Aug 14, 2015

Today I received my Alex Bregman signed Rawlings Official Major League Baseball with it's basic certification of authenticity. It came back very quick. This was my first experience with JSA. I will definitely be a returning customer. The best of the best!

Noah B.

Louisiana
Jun 11, 2015

I had gotten an old Quebec Nordiques game program signed by 3 players. Then all 3 signatures were authenticated by JSA and years later I decided to sell the item. Well I remembered Joe Sakic and Stephan Fiset, but completely forgot the 3rd player's name. In less than one minute I googled JSA certified. check and then entered the JSA cert. number...and instantly up came Steve Finn, the 3rd forgotten auto. Thank you JSA!

Brian Forsberg
Brian4z
Arizona
Apr 07, 2015

I purchased a baseball autographed by Babe Ruth and Lou Gehrig and wanted to ensure the authenticity of my investment. I am glad I sent my baseball in for authentication as it came back with a Reggie Jackson as well. I think my jaw hit the floor when I realized that I now have an authenticated baseball with Ruth/Gehrig/Jackson and some of the 1976 Baltimore Orioles. Donna's customer service is amazing and she was very professional and friendly throughout the entire authentication process! Thank you!

Dennis

Virginia
Mar 13, 2015

The best of the best! This was my first time experience with JSA & I was very pleased with the communication along with the excellent authentication work they do. I will definitely be a returning customer, Very pleased & Well worth the price! Thank you so much :-)

Shannon

Illinois
Mar 06, 2015

In addition to JSA's unparalleled customer service and turnaround time, is the Value Added of their LOA's. I had 2 items on Ebay w/o authentication that got little traffic. Hand delivered items to JSA Friday, picked up LOA on Tuesday @1pm, re-listed on Ebay by 3pm and it sold for asking price by 10pm in a flurry of bids. The LOA's double the value and peaked interest. Great reason why JSA LOA's are so valuable

Ken Hubin

New Jersey
Mar 04, 2015

I have found JSA to be the best in the business. If you are looking to get a truthful, honest opinion on your item, look no further. And now when I look to purchase an authenticated signature I prefer to have it JSA certified, with there rigorous measures to pass an item, I feel confident what's going on my wall is the real thing. After meeting James Spence III at a local signing here in the SF Bay Area last year, he was very helpful and his attention to detail with items is second to none. In conclusion, if you want an honest, thorough examination of your item, look no further, JSA is the way to go!

Noel Daniels

California
Jan 31, 2015

I have used JSA for my autograph authentication needs for the past few years. I must say that JSA hands down has one of the best authentication services around. I normally wait for JSA to show up in the Bay Area at Man Cave where I normally submit my items and get them back the same day. James III and his staff are very helpful. Thank you JSA for your Great Service and expertise

Carlos Gonzalez

California
Jan 30, 2015

I must say it is refreshing to have such a great experience withyour company. Great service, quality and communication. Highly recommended.

Jason Strange

North Carolina
Jan 29, 2015

For the past 3 years, I had been using PSA/DNA to authenticate my collectibles. Recently, with the turnaround time being around 3 months with PSA, I decided to contact the JSA - FL office. Jimmy and his staff in FL run a first class operation from start to finish of a submission. Their customer service is second to none and they returned my submission in less then 2 weeks! I was extremely impressed and I think I'll be going with JSA from here on out when it comes to choosing an authentication company. - Bob Calise

Bob Calise

Rhode Island
Jan 24, 2015

My framing company lost the authentication card. It was so frustrating. Then I had the great fortune of working with JSA, people like Betty and others, who spent time with me assuring me that everything would be fine and they would complete a letter for me. They were patient, kind, extremely understanding and priced so reasonable. Thank you Howard Bultinck

Howard J. Bultinck, Ph.D.

Illinois
Jan 06, 2015

It's an honor to get my my items authenticated by JSA. I'm a collector, and have bought items on Ebay. JSA saved me by actually failing 3 phonies, for which I got refunded by the sellers. Even they were surprised, but the authenication process keeps my collection genuine for years of enjoyment. I strongly recommend JSA, and thank them for their great work.

David Lee

New Jersey
Dec 05, 2014

I use JSA for my authentications. I have attended authentications at the Beckett offices in Dallas, Scottsdale, Arizona and Portland, OR. JSA associates are courteous, helpful and very professional. I was always nervous about sending my items across the country but recently tried it out - almost immediate turn-around and safely returned. I am a collector and not in the business of selling and will use JSA for all my golf items.

Steve Koller

Oregon
Oct 10, 2014

Hi I just want to thank JSA and thier team for past and future authintication practices I have over 100 Basballs now and JSA have done them all Nothing But The Best

Roman G Shablesky

Pennsylvania
Oct 02, 2014

I recently purchased a used basketball for my son. To my surprise the ball was signed by 18 players and coaches. 18 autographs total. The 1999 USA Americas Tournament Team. Tim Duncan, Jason Kidd, Kevin Garnett, Tim Hardaway, Tobby Smith, Larry Brown, etc. Well my son wont be playing with this rare basketball. Thanks JSA for your speedy and professional skills.

Kevin Gault

Texas
Jun 23, 2014

Dear Jim, When I got your Letter of Authentication and found out the names that were on the football, I was overwhelmed and was very happy with the results, you’re the greatest when it comes down to all the hard work and in the business you’re number 1 and I mean that from the bottom of my heart and I appreciate very much all the hard work you and your team did for me. Have a great summer and hope to see you soon again. Sincerely Yours, Vito Losito”

Vito Losito

New Jersey
May 31, 2014

Once again you have knocked it out of the park. Talk about great turn around and great communication! I feel 100% confident when sending in my BIG names to get authenticated. JSA gives the care and attention they deserves, unlike other services. It does not get any better than this.

Mark Roberts

North Carolina
May 22, 2014

I love dealing with you and your team.  It is not a business for me.  I am a collector, not in business or for the money.  My Dad taught me the love of the game.  I have a son and a daughter and I did the same with them.  They both got married last year.  I am building collections for my son and son in-law as kind of a legacy thing that they can pass onto their children, and so on.  Thanks for helping me make special gifts for them.  I appreciate it.  Take care.

K. T. Clebak, Jr. PE
CAPT, CEC, USN (Ret)
New Jersey
Apr 29, 2014

JSA bats a 1000 again. Always fantastic to do business with. Donna is always ready to answer questions and the entire staff provides the best customer service.

Andrew Pinkham

Maryland
Apr 17, 2014

We have been having JSA at our store every June for the past 6 years doing in store authentications. We also have them in store for all of our in store autograph signings. They are always professional and a pleasure to have in our store. Every one of their representatives that we have had the opportunity to meet have been a credit to the industry and we look forward to seeing them this June.

Mike Heckner
Forest Hill Sportscards
Maryland
Mar 25, 2014

JSA never sleeps on the Job!! I can honestly say that JSA never sleeps. If I'm not sure about a fee, I email Jimbo for a price. Sure enough, within 5 minutes, I have my price-even at 5am!! Talk about great service! Thank you JSA for your excellent service. Doug

Douglas Dancer
Dancer Collectibles, Chicago
Illinois
Mar 25, 2014

I just wanted cast glowing accolades to JSA and to say what a pleasure it is to do business with them. I first had items authenticated in person several weeks ago an found the staff to be outstanding. They took time to provide me an explanation why some items were found to be authentic, and others were not. They were fantastic to work with and followed up quickly with a Letter of Authenticity I requested as well as letters for each item that did not authenticate. Just this week I sent 10 items by USPS to be reviewed on Monday and they were returned to me today (Friday). They are super fast and accurate. I have I also have been in contact with Ms. Donna Weigeshoff at JSA who has been very helpful and should be singled out for her wonderful customer service. Thank you for being so great to work with and you will be the only authentication company I will use for my collection.

Andrew C. Pinkham

Maryland
Mar 21, 2014

I used to wait every year for Jimmy to come to The Beachcomber at the Shore Mall in E.H.T.The mall is no longer there,I have great memories talking to Jimmy and his staff. Always professional,nice and friendly.Having Jimmy's background, you can be sure that there is NOBODY better to authenticate your memorabilia.Think about the value of your piece without it being authenticated.With a JSA cert your piece just tripled in value.I still today,years later, send my pieces to JSA.

John P. Loper

New Jersey
Mar 03, 2014

JSA is a pleasure to deal with. I recently began a working relationship with JSA and JimIII in particular. He goes above and beyond to be as Honest and Forthcoming as possible, and is as Professional as anyone I have dealt with in the world of Finance, let alone the Authentication/Collecting business. He responds timely, is accessible and polite, and the JSA Business Model of Integrity and Customer Service is second to NONE. I look forward to future business and your help and expertise is GREATLY APPRECIATED!! Thank you!!

Matt

Massachusetts
Mar 03, 2014

I normally get items authenticated every time you come to either Charlotte or Raleigh NC and every time your representatives go above and beyond being helpful and friendly. They are the reason why I would never go any where else but JSA to get my items authenticated. I cannot say enough of about your great customer service.

Mark Roberts

North Carolina
Feb 27, 2014

I am extremely impressed with the service and interaction with JSA. Erica was amazing and Donna was such a sweetheart. I will be back monthly for authentication.

Andrew Miranda

Pennsylvania
Feb 11, 2014

Simply the best. I have taken more than 1,000 items to JSA & am impressed by their professionalism. Roy makes sure things are done right. Knowing that Jim & his other authenticators truly know their stuff allows me to sell items certified by them as authentic with great confidence. The friendliness of the staff starting with Erica in reception make the entire experience pleasant. Highly recommended.

bill jacobowitz
skybox sports collectibles
New Jersey
Jan 30, 2014

Love JSA....All my Vintage Baseball Collection are JSA. Posted questions on Facebook, and was answered in a quick fashion. I trust JSA only

Darin Harvey

Michigan
Jan 20, 2014

I have used JSA numerous times. Great customer service, extremely knowledgeable, and willing to address any questions, or concerns, with submitted items. CLASS ACT!!!

Chris Hall

Pennsylvania
Dec 07, 2013

I have had the privilege of knowing Jimmy Spence for well over twenty years, and his reputation in the autograph business is stellar. He is the benchmark for authenticity and the genuine article. It is with pleasure and honor that I give his company JSA my recommendation without reservation.

Brian Loiacono

New York
Nov 12, 2013

JSA is simply the best, friendly and fast. Donna was so helpfull. Will use over and over again.

Tony Austin

Louisiana
Oct 29, 2013

Simply the best! Better than all the rest! Better than anyone, anyone I've ever met!

Stella Dallas

Florida
Oct 06, 2013

I am so glad that I took the time to take my 1955 NYY Championship game ball to JSA when they were on the road and here in Florida. They were very impressed with this ball, the condition and naturally the 21 signatures. I was very impressed with Mr J Spence and team authenticators as well. Thank you guys !

S Fiumara

Florida
Jul 20, 2013

I went to an authentication show in St. Louis last month. Wade Hampton was a super nice guy and talked to me about the process and other tidbits that I picked his brain about. Great experience and very professional. Why go anywhere else?

Ben

Kentucky
Jul 05, 2013

I recently purchased a signed Dale Earnhardt Sr. Card. When I went to get it authenticated at a show in Raleigh, North Carolina. I met the staff of JSA... when they took my card and went to the back I thought something was awfully wrong with it and not close to being an original. When they returned it was with a the owner himself smiling as if it was some type of joke being played on him. Hey I had no ideal that the owner an myself share the same name. He's as respectful as he was helpful. I never would have known at that time I was standing beside a giant in its field. My card passed It's test. I must say these guys are sharp. Thanks you guys, I would love to do it again....

James Spence

North Carolina
Jun 28, 2013

JSA, Jim Spence and his staff are great and very professional. Mr. Spence is a gentlemen and takes his time and is very knowledgeable. His prices are reasonable and compatible with other authenticators. Highly recommend.

Anthony Nieves

New York
Jun 04, 2013

JIM did my authentications in Orlando on May 19. He is so personable, knowledgable, professional and a great listener. Out of a 10 highest ranking - I would give him a 100 without exageration. I will be back soon, and you are coming to my community in September. As a teacher for 34 years; I was there first and formost for my students and all of their needs - that is most definitely what JIM reminded me of. Thank You, Ken Konstanty The Villages, Florida May 22, 2013

Ken Konstanty
retired
Florida
May 22, 2013

Why James Spence Authentication, WHY. NOT. Simply. The BEST I started collecting baseballs about a year ago and sent them all to JSA never had a problem with any of them every one was sent back well packaged and protected and if their was a any questions they called you back to get it straight I have to say thank you Mr James Spence and JSA team for all your concern maybe some day I will meet you at a show or here in Pittsburgh. A customer for life. Roman

Roman G Shablesky

Pennsylvania
May 01, 2013

At first I did not believe a real authenticator could tell the differences between a real autograph and a fake one. I know someone who works for Brett Favre and I asked him to get Brett Favre to sign some football cards for. Brett Favre charged me some money and donate it to charity. Which I think is very cool He was nice enough to sign the cards and even had someone take picture of him signing these cards. I even got to hand pick the card and put those EXACT football cards in the mail to Brett Favre. After getting these cards signed I took them to JSA, PSA/DNA, & Global. I didn t put any hologram on the cards or show any of them the photos. There were a total of 10 Football cards and my freind even wrote Brett Favre name on some cards to see if they could tell the differences between a real Brett Favre autograph and a fake one. Out of a possible score of 10 / 10 PSA/DNA got 5 out of 10 right ( The 5 they got wrong were all real ) Global got 3 out 10 right. ( The 3 they got right were the ones they failed that my freinds signed. & JSA got 10/10 right. I am so impressed with JSA. There are a 5 star company and the only ones I trust in authentication.

Joe C

California
Mar 06, 2013

I personally met Mr James Spence and he's professional, nice and has a great attitude. he conversant end with me without even knowing I was in the military.   I have been a collector for years and I wouldn't trust anyone when it comes to this process of authenticating my sports collectibles.

Steiner trusts them.  What more can I or you say?

Kevin Pendelton

Connecticut
Feb 13, 2013

Several months back I submitted several autographs for authentication. I sent several emails to JSA and inquired on the submission status and after several months, I became disgruntled. I wanted my returned, without authentication, and after asking….I never heard from customer service. When James Spence III heard that I was disgruntled he contacted me personally. He personally contacted me via phone, email, and Facebook. He emphatically apologized and wanted my story first hand and then he acted. JSA returned my autographs within 2 days and JSA payed for return shipping. I have collected autographs for 15 years and never been contacted by a “Third Party” authentication service until James Spence III. James bent over backwards to make me a happy customer. He personally intervened and made this transaction right. I highly recommend James Spence Authentication services. There are no other authentication firms in the business that an authenticator will contact a customer to resolve an issue. At JSA I am a name and not a dealer or account number. Thank you James Spence III

Brian Allen

South Carolina
Feb 11, 2013

our rescue group was having a fundraising auction, so i decided to donate a ball cap signed by ben crenshaw. although i knew it was the real deal, buyers would feel more comfortable with an authenticated item. i had no clue how to go about this so turned to the internet, where i found JA Spence. i called them and spoke to dinesh, who was very helpful. he suggested i ship the cap to their new fort lauderdale office and said he would get it back to me as quickly as possible. i shipped it on monday and had it back on wednesday. that is lightning fast fast turnaround! thank you so much to dinesh and the staff at JA Spence for a pleasant and cost effective transaction. for future authentications, JA Spence will be the only number i call!

donna joyce

Florida
Feb 04, 2013

I would like to say thanks again to Wayde and the whole team at JSA, they recently authenticated some of my Pujols collection and came back real. Wade took every step he could to make sure my Pujols signed jersey was real and he has also authenticated a dozen other Pujols items for me. I know Pujols is one of the most forged autographs on the market and for your team to take the time and make sure it is authentic it is worth every penny. I also know when I do give my items to my son down the road I will know he actually is holding Pujols touched and signed memorabilia. Thanks again see ya again soon.

Brent Doty

Illinois
Jan 23, 2013

I submitted several items for authentication by JSA at their recent visit in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. I was treated respectfully and found the authenticators to be most knowledgable and thorough in seeking provenance for the items that I presented. I was satisfied with the feedback that I received, and authentication results that could not be completed on site were sent to me in timely fashion. The LOA page that is ultimately produced is most informative and comprehensive, and truly provides each recipient with a report unique to their item. I plan to use JSA's services exlusively for my treasured autographs.

Manuel Leifer

Arizona
Jan 06, 2013

When I first entered the autograph industry as a Dealer, it was like "The Wild Wild West". Then along comes the Sheriff riding into town on his white horse in the person of Jimmy Spence. Jimmy and his team at JSA have gone a long way in helping to "clean up the hobby". People ask me all the time why do you get things authenticated when you know it's genuine? The answer is simple, an autograph with a JSA cert sells for much more than one without it. As Dealers we more than make back the cost of authentication in the selling price. The bottom line is JSA enhances the value of your inventory or collection!

Arthur Lobbe
MiamiSaul, LLC
Florida
Jan 04, 2013

Hi Jim,

 

Just wanted to express my sincere gratitude for looking over the Ted Williams autographed pic I had doubts concerning earlier this afternoon at Mickey Mantle's, and for volunteering to amend the LOA for this pic without the slightest hesitation.

 

Your professionalism, courtesy and ease of availability, especially in the fast paced and often complex world of autograph authentication, definitely puts JSA in a class by itself. I'm really grateful that I could sit down and get personalized service at the drop of a hat, and the fact that you and your company are routinely available by telephone or in person to handle all authentication matters for the common man makes an amateur collector like me feel extremely comfortable in a hobby where the majority of existing autographs are unfortunately fraudulent. You, your father and your associates have built a great company and I agree that there is probably not a business like yours with the absolute highest of reputations and which also makes itself so available for day-to-day collectors' concerns.

 

I look forward with the greatest confidence to using JSA for my future collecting / authentication needs, and I will definitely pass this recommendation on to my friends who are fellow collectors. Sincerely appreciative for your time, effort and consideration. All the best always

Marcel Lutece

New York
Dec 20, 2012

Jim and Associates . . .

 

Allow me to pass along our high level of satisfaction regarding the service provided last Saturday in Baltimore. At the end of that day, Mike and staff provided expert and professional service in the authentication of a very rare NFL HOFer, Walt Kiesling signature piece.

 

It took my son and I three years to acquire this piece which completes a collection started many years ago.

 

The role of JSA in confirming the authenticity was an expected objective once we were able to acquire the item. My son and I selected JSA over any other to give us the critical authentication. The care and understanding provided by JSA demonstrated that you share our passion. You treated these two private collectors with sincere respect.

We have been and will continue to be active customers of JSA, the most professional authentication service within the industry. From one professional to another, you have my gratitude. Thank you. 

Mathew Butner
Senior Manager - KC Industrial Affairs IS
Maryland
Dec 20, 2012

Dear Mr. Spence,

 

In the past two months I have shipped over 150 items to you to be certified in 4 different shipments. Not only have all four transactions been executed perfectly, but they were also returned promptly - just as you had assured me. I have only had a chance to upload about 1/4 of the items you certified into my Ebay store so far, but I have already had some impressive sales which I would like to share with you.

 

Elston Howard, Mickey Mantle, Catfish Hunter Spalding baseball-Sold for $1249.99 - JSA full LOA# B97247-Ebay item #380219680010

 

Derek Jeter 1998 World Series baseball-Sold for $259.99-JSA full LOA# B88888 - Ebay item #360245605512

 

Derek Jeter 1996 World Series mini-bat-Sold for $199.99-JSA full LOA # B88885 - Ebay item #360245663402

 

Alex Rodriguez baseball-Sold for $124.99-JSA full LOA #B88890 - Ebay item #360245675284

 

Carl Yastrzemski baseball-Sold for $89.99-JSA basic cert #E75994 - Ebay item #380224383936

 

I have sold only 5 JSA certified items this month but have recouped all of my certification costs quickly and any future sales of certified items sold above the non-certified price will be 100% profit. Thank you for running a very professional business. I look forward to dealing with your company again in the future.

Scott
Ebay name - Thesolardude
New York
Dec 20, 2012

Dear Roy & JSA,

 

On behalf of the Steubenville DARE program, I thank you again for your quick & generous support with this year's Steubenville DARE Sports Memorabilia Auction! I Greatly appreciated your donation of time and effort in authenticating the seven items sent to you. Though it was a disappointment that only the Ben Roethlisberger autographed Miami of Ohio mini helmet was able to be authenticated, your efforts in reviewing all seven of our items in such a short timeline helped us feel confident in what we did have at the auction. Roethlisberger's autographed mini-helmet was auctioned with other sports memorabilia at our June 19, 2009 event and helped us in raising over $3,200 for our DARE program. All the funds from these donated items will go to the D.A.R.E. account to service the children's school programs and local activities. Again, I am grateful to you and your staff for your willingness to help us in our time of need. Keep keeping on.

Jean-Phillippe Rigaud
D.A.R.E Officer
New Jersey
Dec 20, 2012

Dear Jim,

 

I want to take this time to thank you wholeheartedly for authenticating the signed photo and letter to me from President Jimmy Carter, the signed photo of General Colin L. Powell and the signed baseball card of Lou Brock. I do not have many things that are of much sentimental, material value to me; however, by having these personal momentums authenticated by you, for me, means a great deal to me. Thank you for all the items that you have authenticated for me in the past and present; as well as, your personal friendship. Your friendship means the most to me.

 

Thank you for everything and all you have done for me. Good luck with your professional business and your life from this day forward.

CPT Frank S. Stramara, USA (Ret)

Pennsylvania
Dec 20, 2012

I recently spoke with Mr. Spence at an on-site authentication in Centralia, IL on 2/10/07. After having spoken with Mr. Spence at length, I was very and impressed and put all my confidence in JSA over any other company.

Matt

Missouri
Dec 20, 2012

Dear Mr. Kraft & Mr. Studebaker,

 

First and foremost, I would like thank you for taking the time to meet with me this morning on such short notice. It is always a pleasure meeting young & dedicated professionals as your selves in the memorabilia service industry. For the past 6-7 years I have attended various shows & sporting events nationally and have dealt with a couple of JSA's competitors, in my opinion your company's customer service, professionalism, and dedication to excellence stands above and beyond all others.

 

Please extend my personal gratitude to Mr. James Spence for putting me in contact with you during your visit to South Florida. As a customer, when you call a service provider and the owner himself answers the phone, it demonstrates what is most important to that organization – the customer. Thanks again and please let me know when you will visit the South Florida area again. I have a few events lined up in the next few months and I will call upon JSA's services again.

Jose A. Rodriguez
Sports Memorabilia Collector & Autograph Aficionado
Florida
Dec 20, 2012
JSA recently authenticated two items for me at a card show in mid October. I had never taken any items for authentication, but I must say my first experience was an extremely pleasant one. I met Mr. Spence along with some of the other JSA staff, and I was impressed with their gratitude, personality, and professionalism which I encountered when submitting my items. The company was very responsive to emails and telephone calls, and I always felt like I was being taken care of. Additionally, I was equally impressed with ease and professionalism provided by SGC when calling about the status of submitted items. Best of all, the items were not only authenticated, but authenticated by JSA. I definitely plan to have more items authenticated in the future, and I will "follow the leader" and seek the services of James Spence and his staff.
Troy Biggs, P.E.

New Jersey
Dec 20, 2012

Dear James Spence Employees,

 

I recently had several items authenticated and 1 item that didn't pass at the CSA show in Chantilly. I just wanted to thank your employees at the show and Jeremy Kraft in particular. Needless to say was disappointed when my autographed helmet was deemed non-authentic, but that is why I brought it to your services because in the back of my mind I was uncertain about the item. Your employees were very courteous, helpful, and answered my questions with professionalism. I hope to see you at future shows down in Chantilly and I will definitely utilize your services and recommend you to others!!!! I just wanted to say thank you again!!!!

Geoff

New Jersey
Dec 20, 2012

Dear Mr Spence and all of J.S.A., Today I received my letter of authenticity for my Ted Williams / Carl Yastrzemski autograghed baseball, which was examined by you at the Shriners Auditorium in Wilmington Massachusetts. I must say, not only was it a total pleasure talking with you at the show about the process of examination and my baseball, but the Letter of Authenticity I received as the result of this examination, is very nicely done, to say the least. I could not be more happier or satisfied, very impressive! I cannot say enough, your Authentication Service is an asset to the Sports Collectible world and to small collectors like myself. Thank You all so much, the Letter of Authenticity is absolutely beautiful.

Robert Thibodeau

Massachusetts
Dec 20, 2012

The following is a letter the editor of the Sports Collector's Digest (SCD) To the editor: I just finished reading Operation Bullpen, Kevin Nelson's well-written book about the FBI's investigation into the Marino-Bray autograph ring. It was certainly eye-opening to read about how such an incredible number of forgeries--estimated at one million--infiltrated the hobby during the mid to late 1990s.

 

At the same time, though, what's always neglected in books and articles on the topic of authenticity is that the autograph hobby--or business, to many--is very much a high-road, low-road situation. An autograph collector has the option of looking for the cheapest piece available or the one most likely to be authentic. These are two very different objectives. The Marino forgeries from Operation Bullpen allowed collectors to buy Ruth cuts, Mantle balls, McGwire photos, and whatever else for a fraction of the price that reputable dealers were charging. If people thought they were truly pursuing authentic examples of these items by buying them from dealers who had massive quantities for bargain basement prices, they were simply in denial.

 

On the other hand, there are plenty of opportunities to get real signatures of these superstars. Collectors just need to be willing to expend the money and effort to assure they are getting the real thing. For example, if you want to learn how to identify real Mickey Mantle signatures, you can look at past auction catalogs and eBay auctions to see hundreds of Upper Deck Authenticated examples, Mantle signatures on the original 500 HR Club lithos. By reading up, you can learn about other signings that Mantle did with reputable sources and see examples of those items. Then, as you look at ones on eBay or at shows, you will notice a pattern: the ones authenticated by James Spence Authentication or PSA/DNA look remarkably like the UDA ones or other ones with good provenance, whereas the $150 Mantle balls just don't look right. You might do the same thing with Ted Williams, or Joe DiMaggio, or Babe Ruth. As signatures get more expensive, the forgeries will tend to be better because there's more incentive for forgers to offer that type of material. But as you see more and more of them and keep track of who has vouched for them, you will notice a clear divide between which ones are real and which ones aren't. You will also see that perhaps there's a good reason why a PSA/DNA or JSA Babe Ruth ball might go for $20,000 or $30,000, whereas a similar one from another authenticator might not exceed $5,000.

 

This is not to say that every expensive one is real, or that there aren't any real ones that aren't authenticated by JSA or PSA/DNA. But it is to say that if you do not have the time, resources, or frankly, the aptitude--it is not for everyone--to learn for yourself about a particular autograph, it just makes sense to buy one approved by someone who does. As we learned from SCAA and J. DiMaggio Co. and the rest of the bogus authenticators uncovered by Operation Bullpen, there are legitimate authenticators and illegitimate authenticators. Do your homework and look at prices realized, and you'll see that this is not behind us. It never will be.

 

So while I thought the book was a great read and also have enjoyed reading about it in SCD, I just think we're not spending enough time focusing on the fact that there is plenty of fantastic, authentic material in the hobby. Furthermore, there is a handful of incredibly qualified people who are able to identify it. The market is efficient, in the sense that the top-notch, real material authenticated by PSA/DNA and JSA commands the highest dollars. It may require time to educate yourself, and it may require significantly more money to get these items, but in the end, that's how to get the item you truly want.

Jay Goldklang

New York
Dec 20, 2012

I want to thank you for the certification you handled for me on several items signed by Mickey Mantle. As you know I worked with Mickey on many, many projects marketing his signature and product. Unfortunately, our autograph business has evolved to where no one is immune to providing proof of product. Although my company and myself bear a spotless reputation in our industry, your authentication services are still a must in certain instances. I have the good fortune to know you and your company and would entrust none other than you to provide the authentication services for these special circumstances. I want to thank you for the services rendered. The beautiful and professional certificates you furnished would move me to suggest to any one considering using the service you offer to use you and your company for a level of complete confidence and reliability not found else where.

Jerry Romolt
Pro Sports Services
Arizona
Dec 20, 2012

I have been an autograph collector for many years and have known Jimmy Spence, as many have, through both the show circuit as well as through his reputation in the hobby. I would not, as any savvy collector, buy any item without Mr. Spence's name attached to it. It breeds consumer confidence and assurance that the item you are purchasing has been deemed authentic by the most experienced autograph expert in our hobby. Now that I have started my own memorabilia company, baberuthautographs.com, I have had the even greater pleasure of dealing with Mr. Spence and his staff on a more professional level , and could not be more pleased with those dealings. As if his knowledge of autographs wasn't enough, he has helped educate and explain to me how to better understand when and where an item originated, through his knowledge of markings and stampings on baseballs as well as photographs. Mr. Spence and his staff go beyond the call of duty. Recently, they arranged to meet with me around my schedule, spent as much time as I needed, and I left with the LOA's signed by Mr. Spence that day, a huge advantage to any dealer who wants to do efficient business. As a dealer, I would not buy or sell an item without the most reputable name in the hobby attached to it. Thanks Jimmy, Jeremy and Ashley. Keep up the great work, as our hobby is better off because of it.

Rob Rosen

Texas
Dec 20, 2012

I would just like to express my complete satisfaction with the service I received on my autograph authentication and SGC encapsulation order. Just a 21 day turnaround time was great. I had purchased most of the autographed cards via mail order at autograph shows. I was pretty confident the signatures were authentic but a James Spence opinion gives me real peace of mind. I'll be ordering again, and will readily recommend your services. So glad I decided to "follow the leader".

Dave Bancroft

New Jersey
Dec 20, 2012

I consider writing this letter of recommendation for Mr. James Spence III and the JSA organization an honor. I met Mr. Spence over 10 years ago while attending my first memorabilia show in Richmond, Virginia. I purchased one of his theme art pieces, and our professional relationship "took off" from there. Over the years, I have accumulated a significant collection of autographed items, and I have had Mr. Spence authenticate every item. His insightful and straightforward approach to his profession leaves other authenticators in the dust. When he decided to leave PSA/DNA to start JSA, my loyalty and business followed. It was my opinion that PSA/DNA was, in essence, Mr. Spence. Without him, they were no better than the majority of second rate "authenticators" that our hobby is saturated with. JSA is the leader in the sports collecting "industry" Mr. Spence's level of integrity permeates his entire organization. In short, we need more people like Mr. Spence in our industry. Should you wish to contact me, my street and email addresses are shown below.

W. Kent Feddeman, CPA

Florida
Dec 20, 2012

I have had the pleasure of knowing Mr. James Spence for many years. He has proven to be a highly ethical, dedicated, and extremely talented individual. His autograph knowledge and expertise is second to none. In my opinion, he definitively corrected the NY Yankee & Brooklyn Dodger clubhouse autograph problem. He has literally saved me many thousands of dollars over the years. I personally will not purchase any autographed item unless it was approved by Mr. Spence. In my opinion, James Spence is the ultimate, definitive autograph authenticator in the hobby.

Dr. Richard Angrist, M.D.

New Jersey
Dec 20, 2012

I cannot praise JSA enough for the authentication services provided me over the past four years by both Jim Spence and his son Jimmy, usually at the former Mickey Mantle's Restaurant in NYC.  It is only as a result of their invaluable guidance and assistance that I have accumulated and continue to grow my proud and significant collection of New York and San Francisco team and single-signed baseballs. JSA has saved me thousands of dollars over the years and I will not purchase any item not authenticated by it.   During my association with JSA, both Jim and Jimmy have been incredibly patient in answering my many questions, taking a great deal of time with me when I have met them and taught me a great deal about the veracity of signatures.   When Mickey Mantle's Restaurant closed, Jimmy went out of his way to meet me several times on my schedule both at my home and at a nearby establishment. I therefore wholeheartedly recommend JSA authentication's services.

Barry Schwartz

New York
Dec 20, 2012

Post Your Testimonial

* Name
Company
* State
* Testimonial
   * Required